Holiday Gifts, Birthday Gifts Galore!

Z and I have not been dating for too long, and I came to find myself in the predicament of “What should I get him for Christmas/his birthday?”  We aren’t too serious, so I didn’t want to get him something crazy expensive, but at the same time, I wanted to be thoughtful and show him that I care.  I think he was having the same problem with my Christmas present, but in the end, we both gave each other the perfect gifts! I’m pretty sure a lot of couples have trouble finding each other just the right thing, so I hope you find this helpful!

Cost: $-$$-$$$ (dependent on you)

Time: short, medium, long

Ideas for your girlfriend/boyfriend:

1. Z’s present to me was a Kindle.  I wrote a post earlier about how we read each other’s favorite book at the beginning of our relationship, and I think this was the perfect gift for my inner bookworm.  Amazon recently released different Kindles for different price points, so really, this is a thoughtful and affordable gift for anyone.  Another thing I think would have been cute is if Z had pre-uploaded some of his favorite books into my new Kindle for me.

2. An experience.  Many girls are sentimental and would value memories over anything tangible.  Keep your eyes on Groupon, LivingSocial, or any other deal site with coupons for experiences.  I’ve seen deals for flying lessons, wine tastings, boating lessons, cooking classes, and skydiving to name a few!  I would love to do any one of these things with my significant other.

3. North Face anything.  Z and I always joke that we’ll get each other (and other people) North Face jackets because they are just reliable presents!  Honestly though, North Face products are appropriate in any situation and will last for a long time.  If you do decide to go with North Face, it can get a little pricey, but it will last for years to come!

4. Ipod speakers.  This was my gift to Z.  We always have music going on in the background, but it was always from our terrible laptop speakers.  You can find great speakers for less than $75 on Amazon.  I got Z some Altec Lansing ones and the sound quality is pretty good.  He uses the speakers every day!

5. Any board game.  I always have friends over, and I really wish I had a collection of games to play when I’m host.  Some great ones to have are: Taboo, Apples to Apples, Bananagrams, Monopoly Deal, Cranium, and Scattergories.  Why not give a gift for many people to enjoy?

6. Season 1 of a great TV show on DVD.  If you give this as a gift, you and your sweetheart can watch together!  I watch a lot of TV and some lighthearted shows I would recommend are: How I Met your Mother, Chuck, Monk, Modern Family, The Big Bang Theory, and Community.  You can marathon together or savor each episode and watch one together weekly.

7. A photobook.  Shutterfly is great for printing photobooks.  It allows you to upload all the photos you want to include, and even has pre-made templates for easy completion.  If you aren’t the scrapbooking type, but want to have something documenting your relationship, Shutterfly is definitely the way to go.

I hope you consider some of these things as you go on holiday/birthday shopping.  These are all things I would love to give/receive, and I think most people would too!  Happy gifting!

Leave a Reply

